IN RECENT YEARS, MANY SMALL LOCAL SHOPS HAVE CLOSED BECAUSAE CUSTOMERS TRAVEL TO LARGE SHOPPING CENTRES OR MALLS TO DO THEIR SHOPPING. iS THIS A POSITIVE OR A NEGATIVE DEVELOPMENT?

Considering the current trends of people choosing to go to mall or ther big shoping centers, it is vital to take into account the positive and negative development it causes. In this essay, I will put forward my view point in the against of this trend and explain the reason behind it. One of the pressing consequences of this trend, is the unbearable economic loss of the local community. Since the customers are diverting themselves to the shoping complexes, in this way they have lessen the sale of the local shops. Consequently, these shop will have to close down because of the loss of sale. Thus, creating a money crunch situation in the community. Another negative development of this trend, is the rise of unemployemnet. With the people going to malls, the shops closes down, there will be a sitation where owners of shop and even the workers who work inside the local shops, have to laid off permanently. Resulting in, rise of poverty, which brings along the crime activity in the area. Thus, unemployment and security issues both coe in hand if the people not invest in local shops. In conclusion, loss of economy and rise of poverty at the local community level, is few of the many negative development. To my mind, rise of mall culture will bring havoc to their community itself directly and indirectly.