Today many countries import food from different parts of the world. Is this a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, many nations purchase agricultural products and meat from various regions around the world. From my perspective, This trend brings about both benefits and drawbacks in equal measures. It is obvious that importing foreign ingredients is beneficial to a country’s economy and diplomatic friendships with other nations. Firstly, it boosts the relationships and the economies between different countries and regions. In many countries, the governments play some significant role in developing diplomatic relationship between these countries by buying each other’s food. Secondly, it increases the chances for people of a nation to experience the culture and cuisine of other parts of the world. By using foreign products, people’s horizons could be broaden and they will know more about the culture and cuisine which belong to the nations exporting these products. Take Japan for example, sushi has grown in popularity among the people all over the world, people whose countries purchase sushi could have opportunities to enjoy this dish. However, the disadvantages of this trend should not be denied. The first reason is that it decreases the popularity of traditional food. When citizens tend to use these importing foods, this leads to lower appreciation and value that young people regard the traditional culture. For example, compared to the past, Vietnamese traditional meals have gradually been replaced by those imported food, which lose the quintessence of Vietnam ‘s culture. Another reason is that preservatives in food purchased from overseas can be harmful to people’s health. Due to the long distance transportation, those imported foods have to be packaged and preserved carefully. For example, fruit has to be shipped before fully ripe or additional preservatives have to added to food. In conclusion, with aforementioned above reasons, while I think global’s food trade should be encouraged however, I also believe that it should be limited.