In order to be successful in sport, some people think you have to be physically strong. Others say that mental strength is more important.

Traditionally, people believed that sports were in the domain of those who were bigger, faster, or stronger than their peers; however, nowadays people value mental strength and believe that this is the most important factor in attaining sporting prowess. This essay will look at both sides of the argument before concluding that a successful sportsperson needs both. To begin with, it is nearly impossible to become a talented sportsperson without some degree of physical superiority over your fellow athletes. This could be either a genetic predisposition or the result of intensive training, but it is undoubtedly of massive importance. A runner with short legs could not win a race against his long-legged competitors regardless of his tenacity and a Tour de France cyclist with a weak heart and poorly developed leg muscles would stand no chance of winning the yellow jersey even if he was extremely determined. Despite that, mental strength is also tremendously important and thus cannot be overlooked in measuring the prerequisites for sporting achievements. In the aforementioned examples of running and cycling, physical strength and attributes are incredibly important, but without the motivation to win and the perseverance to push through pain and adversity, there would be little chance that those people could succeed. In addition, mental strength is required to endure the brutal training regimes necessary for modern athletes, and these are responsible for at least part of the physical capabilities that they develop. In conclusion, it is impossible to say whether physical or mental strength is more important for sportspeople because they are both utterly indispensable.