In many workplaces, online communication is now more common than face-to-face meetings. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

It is commonly considered that the future of the communication will be via online only and this trend is growing rapidly. Many of us usually prefer to use technology while communicating but there are few persons who are still comfortable with eye-to-eye mode. According to my opinion, online chats or video calls have more pros than it’s cons. This essay shall describe how online communication is better than meeting someone in person in the following paragraphs. To begin with, with the help of technology we can save plenty of out time. To elaborate, we do not need to travel to our workplaces and also do not have to follow strict schedule. Moreover, we can do multitasking at the same time while listening to other discussion and that can increase our productivity. For an example, an employee while joining meetings online, can save almost two hours a day and can use that for increasing his work output. Moving on to the other advantages, online communication is helping our environment in an indirect way. For an example, when we are talking virtually, then we do not need to commute and helps in a great way to ease traffic flow. Additionally, we do not need to use our cars and by doing that we can also save our precious fuel and reduce the carbon footprints. Even while using online meetings we can save the water and electricity by not going to the office personally. On the other hand, there are few disadvantages of using online technology which can be avoidable. For an example, a person physical activity can be affected while sitting at home and using these technologies instead of going to office. However, this can be compensated by spending some valuable time in the field or gymnasium. Even there are some severe chances of sickness like headache, on the contrary the same can be avoidable by taking some precious breaks and refreshment. To conclude, there may be some disadvantages to the virtual conversation, but personally, I believe that advantages weigh more. I would suggest that the organizations should consider stressing on talking over the internet rather than the old ways of communication.