In many countries today, crime novels and TV crime dramasare becoming more popular. Why do you think these books and shows are popular? What is your opinion of crime fiction and TV crime dramas?

People around the globe have become more inclined towards novels and soap operas based on crime as compared to any other genre. In my opinion, the reason for such a popularity is that people can relate to the events described in these books or shows, which keeps them engrossed. Crime is omnipresent and even its forms are the same wherever you go around the world. Thus, it doesn’t matter what language you speak or what culture you follow, the definition of crime is the same everywhere. Therefore, people can connect with the ideas of the writer and stay interested in the content. These novels or shows prove very informative for people as they make them aware of the criminal activities that might be going around in the world. They make them more knowledgeable about how to react if they are caught in a difficult situation involving crime. People become more aware of organizations or NGOs that help victims of crime. For instance, regular crime shows share hotline numbers or details of NGOs or organizations that help victims of abuse, human trafficking, etc. The writers, to make their script more interesting, include unrealistic fighting scenes. They add fictional characters, who play the role of a savior. For example, a terrorist plants a bomb in a shopping center and the ‘savior’ policeman locates the bomb and diffuses it just seconds before it is about to blast. I think, this sometimes gives the audience a false hope. In conclusion, it is important for the public to be aware of any kind of crime and thus these book or shows help extend their knowledge about the same so any wrong-doing around them doesn’t go unnoticed.