In many countries, paying for things using mobile phone app is becoming increasingly common. Does this development have more advantages or more disadvantages?

In this era of digitalization, we have become habitual of getting almost every job done through the internet or smart-phone applications, whether it is related to pay utility bills or school fee. Paying from the phone apps for regular things has become increasingly popular in most countries. Whether it has more advantages or disadvantages is debatable; however, I believe it has more advantages. There are many advantages of paying online but to me, the most important is that it is time-saving. We are always running out of time due to our hectic schedules, these paying apps can save our precious time. For instance, if I have to pay my utility bills on an urgent basis, I can pay all the bills with a single click without the hassle of traveling to the bank; therefore, these applications are a time saver. Additionally, the use of these apps is way more convenient than the conventional way of paying in cash. To exemplify this, we don’t have to carry hard cash for online payments; consequently, no need to go bank or ATM for cash withdrawal before shopping, bill payment, and grocery payment. So, these applications have ultimately made our lives easier. On the other hand, it has some drawbacks as well. The major disadvantage of online payments through these applications is the risk of fraud. In fact, one needs to enter his personal details for online paying methods, which ultimately increases the risk of scam for the owner. To conclude, the use of a phone application to pay for things has both pros and cons. I believe the advantages are more in contrast with disadvantages.