In many countries, old and traditional languages are dying out or being forgotten especially by younger people. Is this an acceptable development which occurs inevitably or is it something which we should try to prevent?

Language is vital not only to convey a message but also to human connection. However, in recent times traditional languages are being spoken and taught less in nations across the world. As a result, some believe that this is an unavoidable trend and others think it is we ought to prevent this from happening. This essay agrees that traditional dialect important for the socio-economic advancement of countries. The principal reason why old languages must continue to be spoken is that it fosters unity amongst people of the same region. Thus, it breaks barriers and makes young people in particular proud of their heritage, hence improving patriotism to the country. For instance, China was ranked number one as the country with the most patriotic citizens by research conducted by Oxford University. Therefore, promote harmony and oneness amongst its people. In addition to the point highlighted above, local languages improve the assimilation of students. Subjects are easily understood if they are taught using the mother tongue, hence youngsters are quick to comprehend a course better. Therefore, improving a child's prospect in life. For example, research conducted by UNICEF found that kids assimilate better when taught via there local dialect. Hence, improving the potential of a good quality of life for the student and the nation at large. To conclude, it is paramount for old languages to be passed on to later generations to preserve our heritage and culture. The failure to do this only makes us lose our identity as a people and nation.