In many countries, fast food is becoming cheaper and more widely available. Some think governments should raise the taxes on fast food. Do you agree?

Nowadays, an increasing number of governments across the world are dealing with the health issues caused by the overconsumption of fast food. Some therefore argue that a higher tax should be imposed on this type of food by the local authorities. In this essay, I will discuss the reasons why I agree with view. These government measures could in fact have a positive impact on people’s health and also on the national health system. These days, the abuse of fast food is having a detrimental effect on people’s health; this kind of food lacks in fact of nutrients, minerals and vitamins and it has usually a great amount of fats. Eating great quantities of these foods may lead to serious diseases, such as obesity, tumors, and heart conditions. By increasing the taxes on junk food, it will become too expansive to consume it on daily basis and therefore people may decide to look at healthier options, which are notably cheaper. Furthermore, the rising number of people that become morbidly obese or develop a serious illness due to fast food has a tool on the national health systems. It is indeed noticeable a disturbing rise in the number of individuals with diseases caused by poor-eating habits. For many health systems worldwide is becoming increasingly too expansive and challenging to treat them all. By starting to impose a higher tax on food, governments could use that tax money on further improving and financing the health system. In conclusion, a growing number of people in the world are developing medical issues as a result of eating too much fast food. I absolutely agree with the ideas that governments should intervene and impose a higher tax on that kind of food in order to stop this worrying eating habit.