In many countries, children are engaged in some kind of paid work. Some people regard this as completely wrong, while others consider it as valuable work experience. Discuss both opinions and give your opinion.

In lots of places, youngsters are involved in various types of employment. Some would say that this is utterly wrong, while others would be of the opinion that this is fine because it prepares them for the workforce. This essay agrees with the latter point and will show that, despite some concerns about its effect on education, working at a young age can enhance a person’s character. It is often argued that working before the age of 18 is wrong because children should focus on their studies. This is because children are under increasing pressure to perform academically, and a job will force them to reduce the time they have to study. For example, a recent study by a UK children’s charity found that children who worked part-time were less likely to achieve higher grades than those who did not. However, I believe the lessons children can learn from working are also valuable. Getting a part-time job whilst still at school teaches children the value of hard work and exposes them to the real world. This will result in them working harder at school and having more discipline when it comes to school work, as well as teaching them things they would normally never learn in the classroom. I personally worked in a bar at the weekends from the ages of 15-18 and it taught me how to interact with people and did not affect my academic performance. For this reason, I believe that concerns about work’s negative effects one education are unfounded. In conclusion, despite fears that children will neglect their studies if they are required to work, this essay thinks that a little work experience at a young age does no harm, and can actually help students achieve their educational goals.