In many cities the construction of new houses and office buildings is not controlled. This leads to people building in whatever style they want without thinking about the design. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

There is a noticeable rise in numerous buildings and infrastructure in recent decades throughout the world. Introduction of buildings and houses in metropolitans have become uncontrollable. Professional designers have also taken liberty in architectural style and pattern. I believe that demerits of this trend outstrip its merits. The architects and designers are trying to come up with new designs and styles without restrictions. Firstly, they create specific designs involving modern infrastructure facilities and fulfilling urban life requirements. Secondly, this provides a scope for creativity and improvements. In fact, engineers and architects work together to experiment with different styles and shapes of the buildings in order to develop unique and stable infrastructure. This adds up in creating beautiful and remarkable cities. Moreover, due to increased competition, designers are opting for innovative or distinct to stand at top, regardless of certain refrains. For instance, a National Fisheries Development Board in Hyderabad is designed in a fish shape and is listed in World's top 10 most unique buildings. Despite the mentioned advantages, this trend has serious negative impacts. Constructing building without considering location and design constraints, may disturb the neighbourhood. Consequently, it not only reduces the area for agriculture, but also increases the possibilities of deforestation. Furthermore, with this concept, it may have harsh affects in high-level areas which are prone to landslides or other natural calamities. Innovative concepts such as 'green buildings' can also be used by the designers to eliminate few demerits, still these are unappraised by them. This is due to high budget and more involvement of labour power for maintenance. However, there won't be any judiciary for companies to reduce the fair practice of constructing such houses and offices. To conclude, constructing of new office buildings and houses are unadvised to be carried out in own styles and designs freely as the benefits outweighs the disadvantages.