In France, unhealthily skinny models are officially banned. While some people are supportive of this law, others believe that such restriction in the fashion industry is unreasonable.

Nowadays, being severely underweight has become one of the beauty standard needless to say this is mainly due to a increased in popularity of skinny models in the fashion industry. Therefore, French government had made it illegal even though some agreed with this alteration, other perceive this legislation to be absurd. This essay is presented with both aspects of support and against this restriction. On one hand, this constraint seem to be necessary as many will try to attain the model-like skinny body without taking any precautions. This includes using various of health-hazardous methods such as adopting an extreme diet of starving and even worse taking an unknown diet supplementary which can lead to a dangerous health consequences. In order to prevent French residents to be insufficient in their calories intake or upcoming medical problems, French government ought to restrict the access to perceive any underweight fashion figures, in order to stop this unhealthy trend. On the other hand, a number of model might be skinny due to their natural physique provided that individual has distinctive body type. Therefore, banning this type of physical attribute from fashion industry in equivalent to promote a sense of inequality. For instance, some models are underweight even though they maintained a healthy lifestyle of having nutritious meals and a regular exercise. In conclusion, while this legislation of illegalizing the underweight models may seem to be unequal toward a particular physical attribute, it is necessary as it can caused unhealthy diet or rather a serious medical problem. Therefore, the population health should be prioritized.