In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family?

Today when people get old they go to retirement homes, where they stay with the people of their age. Some people are concerned that the government will take responsibility for these expenses. Others think that the family should bear the cost. In my opinion relatives should pay for nursing homes, but I also think that the government and relatives should share that responsibility due to different financial capabilities of old people’s families. First of all, it will be ruinous for the economy if the government pays for retirement houses. In other words, today life expectancy is longer than ever before and there are a lot of old people. It will be more efficient for the economy if relatives pay for old people’s nursing houses or they could pay for themselves. However, some of eldery people lost part of their pensions due to the financial crisis and devolvations. It means that they could not cover their expenses for retirement houses. In some cases this situation could be even worse when relatives due to different, but reasonable circumstances like financial problems could not afford to pay for a nursing home or old people do not have any relatives. In these situations the government should take responsibility for old citizens. However, there is also another way to handle this problem and it is quite simple. If there is an opportunity not to spend the end of life in a nursery should home spend it with their family. There is no doubt that if the financial situation is appropriate, everyone will be happy to spend more time and to look after senior relatives: . In other words younger generations learn to be patient, to be sympathetic and responsible and older people feel that they are needed. Consequently, family members become vore united, friendly and strong. To sum up, caring about old people demands a lot of money and it will be more efficient for the government, if relatives handle it: pay for eldery or live with them. However, there should be support from the government: paying for nursery homes or financial support and covering part of costs.