In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family?

Nowadays, it is very common trend in Great Britain that when people get retire due to old age and not capable to look after them self, they tend to move to old age homes where all the medical facilities are available along with nurses to pamper them all the time. I believe that it's an obligation to the government to bear the expenses of the old citizens because they paid the tax to them all their life during the time when they were earning. Undoubtedly, when a person gets old it is highly implausible for them to take care for them self by physically and financially, under such circumstances they opt to move in home care facilities where they get proper treatment with accompany of other people with similar ages. The cost of those old age home are relatively high due to expensive medical care facilities. Therefore, it is imperative for the government to allocate the substantial budget to manage those home cares expenses. Certainly, there is a colossal arguments that the family must have bear the cost of old people instead of putting the burden on government. However, there is a fact which is impossible to ignore is that the person when he/she was young and earning money pays the income taxes to the government every month. For example, In the United Kingdom, it is compulsory for every citizen to pay ten percent from their salary as income tax to government each month. Hence, during the old age when a person have insufficient funds to manage the living expenses, it is the responsibility of the government to aid them with proper old age benefits. In conclusion, every citizen plays a pivotal role in the progress of the country by paying taxes regularly, therefore, when they get old it essential for the government to help them in-return with all the basic need they needed during their stay in old age homes