People in today’s world have become too dependent on automobiles

Over the last few decades, as automobiles have become affordable for more and more people, cars have become a very controversial topic of discussion. I am of the opinion that people in the modern world have become far too reliant on automobiles. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay. To begin with, many people have become disinterested in the amount of pollution that their vehicles create. It is a well-known fact that automobiles are one of the biggest sources of deadly greenhouse gases, which are the main cause of global warming. However, it seems that many individuals simply do not care about how much damage they do by driving their cars. For example, my uncle drives an extremely large sport utility vehicle to work every day, even though he commutes alone. This vehicle is not energy efficient, and I think that he ought to take a carpool to his office instead of using it. When I asked him why he continues to drive such a harmful vehicle he responded that even though he is aware of how much fuel it uses, he does not care because of how happy it makes him feel to drive an expensive car. This example demonstrates how neglectful many members of modern society have become as a consequence of their love of automobiles. Secondly, our current obsession with automobiles has caused public transportation systems to be neglected by government officials. Because people are obsessed with their personal vehicles, governments have felt justified in failing to develop bus and rail networks. My city, Toronto, is a compelling example of this. Despite being the largest city in Canada it has only two subway lines and just a handful of underdeveloped bus routes. While this frustrates me quite a lot, most people simply do not care and, regretfully, the issue is never considered of even studied by our municipal government. If more people were to demand better public transportation, of course the government would snap into action and improve the local system. The fact that this has not happened makes it evident to me that our current dependence on automobiles has resulted in a lower quality of living for many people in Toronto. In conclusion, I strongly believe that people today are too dependent on automobiles. This is because our love of driving has contributed to global warming, and because it has resulted in shoddy public transportation systems in major cities.