Immigration has a major impact on the society. - What are the main reasons of immigration? - To what consequences can it lead?

In the current scenario, there has been a trend where people are migrating to various countries. The increasing migration is due to multifarious causes which can have diverse effects on both the individual and the country. This essay will discuss the major causes and effects of migration. Primarily, people from the under developed countries prefer to move to the developed nations for better education for their children and a higher standard of living for the whole family since living in a wealthy country implies living in a country with stable economy. To give a clear example, a handful of people from countries like Bangladesh and Sri Lanka are seen migrating to the United States and Australia to seek better opportunities, to earn more and live a luxurious life. Furthermore, political or economic instability could also be a reason for migration. However, there is a downside to immigration. Overcrowding is a major drawback which leads to several other problems like lack of employment opportunities for the native residents and scarcity of resources. Additionally, migration of people to other countries leads to lesser knowledgeable professionals in the home country thereby affecting the literacy rate of the country. This in turn causes the overall growth of the nation to depreciate. To conclude, migration has a wide impact on the society which is irrecoverable. While immigration may provide global connectivity and exposure, it does have a harmful effects on the society making it economically weak and difficult in terms of the country's growth aspect.