if children behave badly should their parent punish them

It is an ongoing debate that parents should punish the misdeeds of a child or not. In my perspective, punishment only brings temporary results. Instead, they suggest using other effective ways of raising your kids that could help you in the long run. An elaboration of my viewpoint with relevant examples and reasons has been justified in the forthcoming paragraphs. Firstly, It stops your child from developing self-discipline. The main goal of parenting is to raise a person who will be ready to make their own decisions based on their experience. But if you often punish your children and don’t tell them about the consequences of their actions, they won’t be able to understand what’s right and what’s wrong using their own mind in the future. These children usually don’t have any self-discipline or sense of empathy because nobody taught them these essential things. They just know that there is a part of them that is undesirable or bad, and their parents don’t like it. Secondly, It doesn’t change your child’s behavior. Children can’t learn when they feel afraid, disrespected, or rebellious. And that is exactly how they feel when you’re punishing them. So even if you might think that you’re teaching them proper behavior with your punishments, you’re actually sending one simple message to them instead. This message puts a child in an uncomfortable position when they don’t know how to figure out the right behavior on their own. Due to this, their negative emotions can get stifled and pop up later when the situation repeats itself. Last but not least, It ruins your relationship. Punishment simply doesn’t belong in a loving relationship. On the contrary, it creates an infinite wall between you and your children. This wall of misunderstanding and hidden aggressiveness makes both sides unhappy and dissatisfied with their family roles. Consequently, punishment reduces your effectiveness as a parent. So, when your children get older, they won’t turn to you and seek advice or help. Instead, they will look for love in other places, some of which might turn out to be wrong. In conclusion, parents shouldn’t punish their children, however, they need to talk to them about taking responsibility for their actions or teach them to apologize so that children will refrain from misbehaving.