IELTS essay on why many people think that happiness relies upon the individual , while others think it is affected by other factors , discuss both views

For some people, happiness is only a state of mind, and a person is individually responsible for it; however, for many others, happiness depends upon external things. In my opinion, external factors play a massive part in making a person happy. Both the viewpoints are elaborated from the essay. Happiness is thought of as the sole responsibility of somebody by many. This is because people have the perception that happiness depends on an individual’s state of mind and heart as well as every person must have the ability to take control of one’s emotions. Moreover, many self-help books, yoga and meditation institutes preach how to take charge of your state of mind to keep good mental health and peace. Happiness for them is all about internal satisfaction and through practices like yoga and meditation, it can be gained. Conversely, many people consider external factors extremely crucial for their bliss. That is to say; every individual has some expectations or dreams that they want to fulfil, be it a good job, living with family, a house or a big car. Individuals often feel fulfilled after attaining something substantial or fulfilling one or the other dream, and this further brings a feeling of bliss within them. Furthermore, researches and surveys have proved that the weather also has a significant impact on people’s state of mind. By way of instance, according to the study conducted by the Times of India, Pune was on top of the record of the happiest cities of India because of its pleasant weather. In conclusion, although many people feel that happiness can be achieved entirely without considering other factors, it cannot be denied that someone cannot be happy if externally everything is going against his expectations.