Some people think that personal happiness is directly related to economic success. Others argue that happiness depends on different factors. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Happiness is a state of mind. Obviously, different people understand it in different ways. I believe that economic success is an essential element to happiness, but it is just one factor and that too not the most important one. Other factors like a stable family life, secure source of income and good heath are more important in achieving happiness. Undoubtedly, to achieve personal happiness, economic success is necessary but its importance shouldn’t be exaggerated. Apparently, it’s sensible to say that one needs sufficient money to live in a spacious apartment, to have a private car, fashionable clothes and latest household electrical appliances, which are all indispensable for happy life. However, we have to admit that material success alone can’t ensure that one can lead a happy life. One may have a lot of money but if there are not cordial relations among family members, one can never be happy. In fact, too much wealth can lead to stress in life if children go astray because of too much wealth. A person who has the barest minimum but a very understanding life partner and obedient children can be very happy. Good health is another factor needed for happiness. Can you imagine a multimillionaire suffering from cancer to be happy? Another big factor is a stable source of income. One can never be happy if one is not sure whether his business will pick up or his job is secure. To put it in a nutshell, I pen down saying that, economic success is important but those who cooperate well with co-workers and those who get along well with families, friends and neighbours are more likely to be happy, and it’s the same case with those who pursue a variety of interests and hobbies at leisure and those who are in good health.