How to run a business in a sustainable way

For years, sustainable practices in business were considered the domain of the "tree-huggers" and "granola-crunching hippies". But these days, sustainability is in. From Adidas to Walmart, major corporations are making huge investments in sustainability because they understand that it's good for business. That means if you want to run your company in a sustainable way, it's time for you to get on board! Step 1: Start by assessing how you're currently doing. You have the idea that sustainability is important to you, but how well are you doing in terms of your business? Start by creating a list of all the ways your business could be more sustainable. For example, does your company have a recycling program or a means for employees to give feedback? If not, look at ways you can improve. Step 2: Learn from others. Attend trade shows and conferences where you can meet with other businesses that have embraced sustainability and see what they're doing that you could apply to your own business. You'll also learn about new products and services that can help you achieve more sustainability at a lower cost – which is good news for the bottom line. Step 3: Identify cheaper, greener alternatives. Don't be afraid to go green. With some creativity, you don't have to spend nearly as much money on sustainable products and services as you thought. For example, while buying recycled paper may cost more than regular paper at first, you'll get that money back when you replace your printer more frequently. Step 4: Set goals. Once the initial changes are made, it's time for your company to set goals. Examples of goals are reducing water use by 20% over the next year or reducing waste by 50% in three years. These are challenging enough to get your company excited about what they can accomplish but still realistic so that they can actually be achieved. If you're not sure about the goals that your company should set, you can start with setting goals in your area of expertise. You'll be amazed at how far it gets you! Step 5: Measure and track progress. As business owners, we tend to look at things from a financial perspective when we need to make changes. But when it comes to sustainability, keeping track of what is happening is just as important as making changes in the first place. For example, if everyone in your company turns off the lights when leaving a room, or if everyone refills their coffee mug instead of throwing it away, you can track these things and see how they affect the bottom line of your company.