How to influence people to become more environmentally friendly?

It goes without saying that the majority of people in our society don't care about the environment and planet at all. There has been recent discussion concerning some repercussions which pollution has on our planet. Based on this, I intend to set out two best solutions that might help to tackle this problem. As some newspapers have recently stated, one of the best ways which would prevent people from polluting our planet and therefore becoming more considerate to the environment is to tighten up our laws and put forward such high taxes on those companies and people who don't realize the severity of this issue. As far as I'm concerned, I'm deeply convinced that this not the best way forward. As we have seen during the past few centuries, making new tougher laws can lead to dissatisfaction. Furthermore, people could start perceiving the government as a potential threat. To make it clear, people will never obey a law which has just gone through parliament without any clarification. However, if the government wants to be more effective, I would start from scratch and with people's mindset. It cannot be denied that schools have a major impact on our personality and the perception of the world itself. Therefore, the government should everything in its power to amend the curriculum to deliver the main purpose which is the acquaintance with our environment. Children play an important role in our society. This new generation is going to live here for another century. Hence, I take it for granted that we should teach them how to become more eco-friendly. The richness and diversity of our world is the most vital thing and our children have to be aware of this. In conclusion, I do urge governments all over the world to start taking immediate actions before we are run out of time. As I have previously stated, if we do not start raising awareness of this at an early age, it will result in severe consequences.