How should we spend our free time?

Leisure time is considered essential for the smooth functioning of the human body. While some people think that free time should be spent for cognitive activities, while others maintain that it is vital for our minds to have a break from all kinds of activites. We will discuss both sides of views in this essay. People who tend to spend their free time in mind activities such as reading or word puzzles believe that these activities make them sharp and mindful, and which in turn help them greatly in their work and day-to-day chores. A recent study conducted by the Swinburne Univesity of Technology concluded that healthy adults who regularly participate in mind games or puzzles tend to be more productive in their life as compared to their peers who only casually get involved in these games. Moreover, mind activities are strongly suggested by psychologists to overcome work-related stress and depression. On the other hand, some people think, as our physical bodies, our minds also gets tired and need some quality time to rewire and work properly. They argue that by having free time without any physical or mental activitiy one can save their energy to be spent on more necessary tasks. Even some studies have shown that while mind activities are a great way to enhance our cognitive abilities, it can be equally beneficial if we have some quality time just to ourselves, without any physical or mental activities. In conclusion, even though playing mind games in our free time can increase our brain functioning, but often giving our minds complete rest is also vital.