How important are health care facilities? discuss both views

There is a popular saying that health is wealth. While some people may argue that good health care do not guarantee healthy liveness, I am of the opinion that the quality of available health care facilities contributes tremendously to the well being of the populace. This essay will discuss both views. My reasons are not far fetched. Firstly, medical facilities put in place to provide the required care in the times of need, assist to provide the assurances of prompt medical attention; hence improving the chances of survival. For example, about 30 percent of rural women in Nigeria die during childbirth as a result of non availability of facilities which should have ensured regular antenatal and postnatal care. Similarly, there is a 27 percent death rate arising from road accidents in Nigeria as a result of non availability of paramedics in most of the cities in the country. In addition, properly equipped diagnostic laboratories help with an understanding of the health condition of patients before the illness gets to advanced stages where it becomes difficult to curtail. For instance, 20 percent mortality rate for cancer patients in Malawi is attributable to late detection. Conversely, some folks are of the view that no matter how well hospitals are, human beings are destined to die. This spans from religious believes that death is compulsory for all mortals. An example is the fact that even the doctors who give care to patients also die eventually. In summary, adequate and proper health care enhances the quality of lives. It helps to reveal the status of patients in good time. Thus providing the opportunity for swift response and referrals to facilities with experienced personnels with professional expertise.