There have been an increase in fraud in the society, what is responsible? how can this be curbed

In recent times, fraudulent activities have spiked up greatly. This could be argued to be as a result of the quest to acquire wealth and material things without having to work for them. This essay will consider the possible reasons for the increase in fraud levels and identify the how to reduce the menace in the society. Firstly, the decrease in social values has been identified as one of the reasons why youths engage in ilicit wealth. Folks no longer worry about what their peers as well as religious leaders will say, when they are caught in acts of fraud. For example, the Federal Bureau of Investigations reported that 80 Nigerians were arrested for wire fraud. Consequently, they were arrested and named. Thus creating a feud in the social media platforms as to why they had to enrich themselves fraudulently. Also, bad behaviours are easily learnt. some good people get involved in fraud because of their associations. As an illustration, the Daily Times reported that 70 percent of cyber fraud fraudsters are members of the same social groups. However, some school of thoughts have a different view. They believe that the rate of unemployment and underemployment contribute significantly to the prevalence of fraud in the society. For instance, in Nigeria, unemployment has maintained a steady increase since 2014, rising as high as 30 percent. Certainly, people will have to find what to do to make ends meet. In summary, no one should thrive at the expense of other individuals. The society must find a way of discouraging fraud, either by rewarding good morals or via laws that will seek to criminalize fraudulent activities. Accordingly, this will help mitigate the incidence of fraud in the society.