Hosting an international sporting event can cost a city millions of dollars. Why is it then, that so many cities compete to host international sporting events such as the Olympic Games and the football world Cup?

These days, the most famous and popular global events are sporting competitions, such as the Olympic Games and the football World Cup. In the events, people from all over the world compete against each other to win honours for themselves and their countries. Naturally, because these international competitions involve so many people, they are very large and complex events. This means that they are also very expensive to host. Despite this expense, however, a competition to host these events is very fierce, for various reasons. The first and most important reason why cities compete to host international sporting events is prestige. Governments and city officials are aware that hosting a large international sporting event will lift a city's profile and give that city a lot of positive publicity. For example, when Sydney hosted the 2000 Olympic Games, journalist from all over the world came to Australia. As well as writing or talking about the Olympic events, these journalists also mentioned the host city and the host country. This resulted in a lot of free, positive publicity for Sydney and Australia. Therefore, governments hope that hosting an international event will result in favourable media coverage and greater prestige for the host city and country. Related to this first reason is another benefit of hosting an international sporting event, and that is tourism. Governments hope to attract more tourists and increase earnings from tourism. This can be seen in the short-term, with an increase in visitors attending the sporting event itself, and later, with an increased number of tourists visiting because they have heard about the city or country which hosted the event. In conclusion, it is benefits such as these which encourage governments and city officials to apply to host international sporting events. This is despite the expense involved in holding these competitions.