Government should look forward more to improving public transportation, instead of expanding the road network for vehicles. with this opinion?

Providing public transportation with more improvement rather than further expansion of road networks for private automobiles are always a debatable topic. Even though, many people claim that in today’s daily life public transportation is a basic need that should be optimized immediately. Others reject this notion and argue that road networks are needed to be expanded. In my opinion, the former proposition appears to be more rational. The following essay will further elaborate both sides of the statement with clear examples and thus lead to a plausible conclusion. To begin with, the performance of public transportation affects the daily life of almost every people. In Australia, for example, over 90% students choose to travel through public transport system every day. However, delays of bus service and even trains are pretty common, which triggers a series of chain effects such as late for school, missing important appointment and even losing jobs. Increasing the speed of our transport network, particularly with trains and track, as well as adding more shifts of bus and tram services would be a huge boost for the convenience of citizen’s daily travel. On the flip side, expansion of current road network is reasonable for the increasing trend of traveling by private vehicles. However, it is more beneficial and eco-friendly for the government to invest their money, upgrading the public transport system. According to the arguments aforementioned, one can reach out to conclusion that optimizing public transportation provides more benefits than doing so for the private vehicles. In a nutshell, a good public transport system preserves our environment and also relieves the pressure from road networks.