Government pays tuition for university students. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

People have different views about what university students usually receive financial support for their tuition free from the government. While there are some benefits, I would argue that it has more drawbacks. On the one hand, the considerable investments of the government in free tuition higher education can be some benefits. Firstly, the financial burden of students may be reduced as they do not have to pay for their education tuition. Therefore, they can save money to spend on other living expenses such as food, accommodation and transportation. If students have to pay for their education, they would need to find a job to earn money. This may have negative effects on their studies. Secondly, because free education may attract a large number of students to participate in college, they could be easier to approach after highschool which provides knowledge and necessary skills. This helps them have a job, which contributes to reducing crime rate and poverty. On the other hand, I believe that the potential drawbacks of free education are more significant. Due to investment in free education, the government would have insufficient funds to invest in other important factors. Take medicine as an example. nowaday, because the country is facing a COVID-19 pandemic. If the government does not have to pay for education, it could invest in different sectors. Besides, because students are provided for free education, they could completely rely on those benefits. This leads to them becoming lazy and lacking motivation to study. If students have to pay for their college tuition, they would value education more. In conclusion, while studying university for free has several advantages, I strongly believe that not investing in free education is a better option.