Government in many countries have introduced special taxes on foods and beverages with high level of sugar. some think these taxes are good idea while others disagree

Countries are now becoming more strict regarding the consumption of unhealthy products available in the market. Government is trying to keep tab by levying heavy taxes. Though numerous are in favour of the idea of imposing tax, other believes that applying tax will not be beneficial. I will discuss both views now and provide my opinion. Probably the reason of opposing the idea of fetching more money from public is because of the fact that it will impact manufacturing companies. Rather, these are manufacturers, distributors and vendors, who are standing against it. Indeed companies will see a decline in the demand which will eventually lead to the loss in business especially in case of small scale companies where business may have to shut down in long run. For example, nowadays, many small vendors like sweet shop owners are not seen in much number as earlier and now sweets are available in branded outlets. However, with some disadvantages, there are multifarious benefits. Most important is that, health of people will improve. In today's era, it is one of the grave issue and government is certainly spending a lot make people fit like opening parks and building recreational communities. Much change is not yet not visible because ultimately it is a choice of individual to buy and eat unhealthy products and live a sedentary lifestyle. Therefore, time has come to implement stringent laws which will prevent people from buying such products. Over all, according to me, this step of government is highly appreciable as it will ameliorate the living standards.