Fossil fuels are essential for producing electricity, powering industry, and fueling transportation. However, one day we will reach a point where all the world’s fossil fuels will be lost. How can we conserve these resources? What are some alternatives to fossil fuels?

Fossil fuels are necessary for the production of electricity, industries producing electrical and mechanical power as well as to operate the fuel-dependent modes of transport. It is believed that soon the world will run out of fossil fuel supplies. Some ways of conserving these reserves will be discussed in the upcoming stanzas and some substitutes to these non-renewable assets will also be highlighted thereafter. To initiate with, fuels have become a part of contemporary lifestyle, thus they are being used up at an alarming rate. There is a dire need to conserve them and many steps can be taken to do so. First of all, we must make use of renewable sources of energy instead of merely exhausting fossil fuels like coal and petroleum. Solar energy and windmills can be used to generate electricity. Cars that run on battery or solar energy are already in making. For instance, in 2008, Tesla Motors released its first electric car. Moreover, masses must also protect non-renewable fuels from fires. Wastage of oil must also be avoided as spillage leads to wastage of a huge amount of oil reserves. Also, the conversion of fossil fuels into efficient forms like CNG is a good way to preserve the unrenewable resources. To continue, as far as alternatives to non-renewable sources of energy are concerned, Biomass was a choice of fuel among masses for centuries before coal and petroleum became available for use. In addition, Hydrogen is one of the world’s most plentiful components, and like biomass energy, its utilization in the power sector is nothing new yet energizing new advancements have put it back to the spotlight. Hydrogen fuel cells can create clean energy for a wide range of sources. They can be utilized in the vehicle area similar to lithium-particle batteries, yet dissimilar to batteries as they don’t run down or need to be charged. Furthermore, Wave Energy, solar energy and whisky can also help in fulfilling the energy demand of the world by using innovative techniques. To sum up, fossil fuels take millions of years to be produced and they are being exhausted worldwide at an alarming rate. It is very important to save them as if we won’t, the world will soon finish them all up.