Forests produce fresh oxygen and participate in regulating climate. But every year tree cover of our planet is lessening due to deforestation. What are the primary causes of deforestation? To what results may it lead?

Human beings cannot sustain for a few seconds without oxygen and it is a well-known fact that plants and trees are the primary sources that are responsible for generating the O2 in the atmosphere. Despite this dependency on forests, people still don’t restrain themselves from cutting them down. Homo sapiens have been carrying out deforestation for many years due to various reasons, which later on lead to some adverse impacts on the biosphere. The following passage illustrates the primary causes of deforestation and the results it leads to. To begin with, one of the main causes of deforestation is the need for agricultural land, in order to produce greater quantities of food crops. In addition to this, for the sake of providing better transportation and living conditions, governments started logging trees owing to the fact that construction of buildings, roads, railways and setting up electric beams among the woods is not suitable. Lastly, the wood that is obtained from the trees is used for various purposes such as, it is used as fuel for vehicles, it is carved and used to produce furniture. For instance, the forest area has been reduced significantly over the past few decades due to the fact of an increasing number of buildings and roads. Firstly, the most important effect of clearing forests is global warming which not only increases the temperature of the biosphere but also severely impacts the water cycle. Secondly, the loss of natural habitat, considering the fact that the jungle is the adobe of wildlife. For example, as a consequence of this situation, there are a greater number of wild animals which are on verge of extinction such as rhinoceros, Bengal tiger. In conclusion, people should realise and understand the negative outcomes of deforestation and must take required measures such as encouraging afforestation.