Foreigners have a tendency to live in the rural area. Give the pros and cons of this and relevant examples to support.

In this day and age, foreigners have a tendency to live in the rural area. This composition will focus on the advantages and disadvantages of this trend. On the one hand, rural areas can offer tourists great pros. First, tourists can save a lot of money when they live in the countryside. Larger cities are often very expensive, while in rural areas everything is affordable. Getting a hotel in the city center and eating out at prestigious restaurants can quickly make a huge dent in tourists’ holiday budget. However, if they travel to a small town and stay in a guesthouse with a local family, the accommodation costs will be very low. Food is also cheaper due to the availability of fresh vegetables and fruits that they can get directly from farmers. Secondly, life is more relaxing than living in cities. City-dwellers usually have to suffer high levels of stress since they have to face busy schedules, traffic jams and pollution every day. Meanwhile, those who live in the countryside can enjoy fresh atmosphere, slow-paced lifestyles and have a chance to get close to nature. On the other hand, there are still some cons of living in rural areas. The language barrier is one problem that foreigners may encounter.  Most of the rural areas do not have good educational facilities so local people in rural areas rarely have access to foreign languages. Moreover, facilities in rural areas are not well developed. Hospitals are hard to find and are not equipped with modern instruments and infrastructure, which is dangerous since foreigners are easily subject to diseases due to changing weather conditions. What’s more, if foreigners forget to bring some regular grocery supplies such as a toothbrush or clothes, they will have to go miles as there are very few shops in the vicinity. In conclusion, living in rural areas can offer both advantages and disadvantages to foreigners. But the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.