For school children, their teachers have more influence on their intelligence and social development than their parents.

It is argued by some people that the intelligence and the social development of children in school is mainly influenced by their teachers. I disagree with this notion, as social skills and intellect of young ones begin to develop before they commence elementary school and parents spend more time with their children to influence their developments. First of all, intelligence and social skills of young ones begin to develop from infancy. Children neurological abilities determine their intellects and social developments which can be affected by their nutrition and care parents give to them at the early age. For instance, infants who are well nourished with adequate parental bonding are expected to be intelligent and have skills needed for social interactions, although, they need some inputs from their teachers as well. Therefore, if parents do not provide the necessary care for their kids, school teachers would not be able to instruct them. Furthermore, children spend more time with their parents than the teachers and they can be easily influenced by them. Children's interactions with their parents begin right after birth and even when children start schooling, they spend a smaller proportion of their time with teachers. For example, in Nigeria, primary school pupils spend an average of seven hours daily at school, while they stay with their parents for more than half of the day. Thus, parents have more opportunities to impact on the intelligience and social developments of their offsprings compared to their teachers. In conclusion, I disagree with the view that teachers have more influence on school children's intelligence and social development than their parents. This is due to the fact that children's intellect and social interactions start before commencing school and they spend a considerable proportion of time daily with their parents.