Every year several languages die out. Some people think that this is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world. with this opinion

In this age of globalization, many people seem to have lost interest in their regional languages. As a result, many languages are dying out especially the native ones. Some people think that it is not important to protect them as life will be easier with fewer languages. I do not agree with this perception and would like to further explain my stand in this essay. I believe language is the fundamental tool to understand the culture, traditions, and thought process of different communities. Language greatly helps in researching useful facts about far-flung places outside the cities. It can have scientific and educational significance. Also, many kinds of literature, songs, and poems are narrated only in local languages. For example, there are many famous pieces of folk music and lyrics written in the regional languages of the northern and southern parts of India. It may not be feasible to learn multiple languages at the same time. However, it has been observed that learning and speaking multiple languages is beneficial to the mind. Psychological studies have proven that multilingual ability is an asset to the cognitive process. It enhances problem-solving skills, decision-making ability and exercises our brain activities. Although it is argued that more languages cause confusion and difficulty in conversing, I feel it is a false perception. People can use their mother tongue for conversing with their family and friends and an international language like English for official communication. For example, I live in Mumbai and use Hindi to communicate with my colleagues, friends and strangers but at home, I chat in Punjabi which is my mother tongue. I also understand Marathi because it is my state language. My understanding of multiple languages has only benefited me in my professional and personal life. In summary, I suppose attempts should be made to preserve dying languages as much as possible. The essence and originality of some artistic, literary and methodical works might disappear and it may no longer be accessible if languages vanish. These advantages overweigh any difficulty that we might encounter because of the existence of multiple languages in the world