Every year several languages die out. Some people think that this is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world. with this opinion?

It is observed that many languages are diminishing slowly which is considered a positive development by some people as this can lead to adaptation of one language globally. I believe, fewer languages, particularly a universal language can open doors of opportunities regarding education and trade. Firstly, students can attend any university anywhere in the world without worrying about the medium of instructions. It is a fact that one of the biggest hurdles to attend an overseas university is the difference in language. Most of the students complete their undergraduate education in their native language. Therefore, this sudden shift to a whole new way of learning becomes extremely challenging for them. For instance, many people who move to English-speaking countries to pursue postgraduate training, have to pass English speaking tests which sometimes become more frustrating than obtaining a licence in their respective field. By adopting one language, this issue can easily be curbed. Another area that commonly gets affected by the practice of multiple languages is the trade sector. It is very common to do business with different countries because of advancement in technology and travel industry but communication remain a challenge due to language differences. To make the business deal workable, Interpreters fill this gap to an extent but often they lack proficiency as well leading to loss of business or trust among the two parties. This experience can be made better by promoting a single language as means of conversation, for instance, in the recent era, when English gained popularity as an international language, there is a noticeable change in the way people interact with each other as now they can easily talk to one another without any language barrier, this further strengthens the need of fewer languages to minimize confusion and bring convenience. In conclusion, the advantages of having fewer languages are evident and massive changes can be brought in the teaching and business world by eliminating extra language and focusing on one.