Advantages and disadvantages of leaving the country to live or study abroad

Leaving the home country to live or study overseas is now a common feature of modern life in developed countries. Researches have shown that 45% of the young population has the intention to gain international experience, a trend expected to increase in the following years. Nevertheless, this growing trend might bring to the table both positive and negative outcomes. In the following essay, I will highlight the main advantages and disadvantages. Being in a different culture is beneficial for several reasons. Most importantly, it broadens people's horizons. People have the opportunity to meet and establish strong bonds with people from different cultural backgrounds, and learn to cope with foreign customs and food. Besides, it allows people to access a better life quality. For instance, people from the UK move to Spain and Australia every year due to their warmer climates and work-life balance. One other benefit is the qualifications gain and the language skills improvement. People have the chance to interact with native speakers and learn the local idiomatic expressions. Finally, people can boost their promotion prospects once they are back in their own countries. When pushed out of the comfort zone, people tend to build soft skills like multicultural communication and empathy. Hiring managers typically look for job candidates with these skills since they perform better in the marketplace. There are, however, some disadvantages. People can suffer from the well-known "cultural shock". There are language barriers, gastronomy, and cultural differences that may be hard for some to cope with, resulting in homesickness and a sense of isolation. Likewise, it is challenging to start from scratch. it is time-consuming and exhausting to make new friends and find a place in the community, especially if a new language has to be learned. in my opinion, anything which encourages learning benefits society culturally and economically. Moving overseas is a relevant enriching experience and from my point of view, the benefits outweigh the disadvantages. People having a go at this experience should always maintain a positive attitude and be open-minded to succeed.