Every country needs to remember its past. with this statement?

Most nations, around the world, have a unique history which has brought them to their current state. But, due to the globalization of the world, a number of individuals avoid recognizing their roots. In my opinion, the knowledge of our own history plays a vital role in our society’s development. In this essay, I will discuss the importance or not, of remembering our past. Firstly, for some individuals, history has become an excuse for hiding behind their mistakes. Furthermore, by claiming that their ancestors are to blame for their current state, is an easy way out of any situation. To illustrate, in 2010 when Greece was in a difficult economic state, politicians all around the country were blaming past governments for the problem, rather than taking the responsibly themselves. Finally, over analysing the past can leave people stranded on a reality that does not exist today. Nevertheless, history can influence people on a positive matter, by reminding them about the achievements and mistakes of the past. On the one hand, the achievements set an example for individuals to fight for, while the drawbacks alarm them and make them more cautious. For example, in 1971 when Greece was ruled by dictators, and citizens could not freely express themselves, this made the society realize the severity of the situation, and this influenced them in avoiding the same mistake in the next years. Moreover, acknowledging our past, brings us closer to our customs and gives us the opportunity to recognize our cultural identity. Taking everything into consideration, the knowledge of our past is absolutely important for us to become complete individuals. Subsequently, it's my firm belief, that history must be taught thoroughly throughout all the academic years.