essay about language. what are the advantages and disadvantages

Its is true that English has become the world's most popular language, partly due to the development of tourism. This trend might lead to English becoming the only language spoken all over the world, which has some benefits and some drawbacks. On the one hand, having one language everywhere and in all fields can bring humanity a number of benefits. Firstly, it makes communication between people of different cultures and backgrounds more effecient. Secondly, scientists, students and researchers can share knowledge more effictively and more easily if they all spoke the same language. In addition to that, using the same language in all books and studies can further facilitate information delivery. Finally, translation modifies original work such as novels and comicbooks; if we no longer need to translate content, people will be able to enjoy more original work. On the other hand, having one global language will lead to the disappearance of all other languages. This will be accompanied by the loss of a substantial portion of nations' cultures and traditions. Since language holds people together and maintains communities, its disappearance will have a negative impact on the identity of some nations. For example, there are certain forms arts which are based on a language other than English, such as Arabic artistic handwriting. These arts will no longer exist if English becomes the one and only language. In conclusion, speaking the same language all over the world has numerous advantages, but these are on the expense of other languages and cultures.