Social Media and Internet Use

There are many research on literature claiming that social media is harmful for individual’s mental health and relationships. However, I do not believe communicating over social media is far too different from in person conversations. Social media is just an another platform for people to interact with each other, it has almost the same issues with face to face communications. For instance, bullying which is a serious problem for our society has just transformed into cyber-bullying. One can argue that being anonymous made people more cruel to each other and cyber-bullying can be considered more hazardous. But one should keep in mind that pyhsical abuse over internet is not a thing. So both virtual and real life has it’s own problems.  Lately the studies about social media and screen time shifted in a more positive or neutral approach. There are critisism against the previous studies that found screens harmful to childrens, simply because they did not consider the other factors that might have an influence over negative outcomes. Besides, in many studies that claims internet use is problematic, researchers were not really careful about interpreting the results of their analysis. They made causational interpretations when they use correlational analysis method. Even correlations gives clues about the cause, they are not the evidence.  In conclusion, social media is not the one to blame, it is just a different platform that negative behaviours occurs. Alongside with that, we need to re-review the papers about social media and internet use, and be careful with taking the results as facts.