Due to a shortage of land, vertical buildings appear the norm in futuristic architecture. Do you agree or disagree?

In this day and age, in some cities, the governments decide to construct high-rise buildings to provide housing for their citizens. However, I find myself in complete disagreement with this opinion because of the potential risk they offer On the one hand, A vertical city can better optimize the land-use because the land on earth will not grow any bigger, while the human population is ever-increasing. If tall apartments are erected and chosen as a place of residence, a unit of land can accommodate a larger number of residents. For instance, instead of allocating 100 miles square of land for the construction of houses for a population of only 100 households, the government can provide accommodation for ten times as many when constructing a ten-story apartment. Therefore, more land can be available for other purposes, such as cultivating crops to meet the growing food demands or expanding streets to alleviate traffic congestion, which can address critical issues associated with overpopulation. On the other hand, when matters of safety take into consideration, the second approach might surpass the first. The reason is the ability to withstand the devastation caused by natural disasters. Whether it is an earthquake or hurricane, the damage suffered by low buildings can be less catastrophic due to their stronger foundation and less heavy load. Additionally, in case of emergencies, such as fires and earthquakes, the high-rise skyscrapers could potentially be much more dangerous for its inhabitants than smaller houses. A prime example is that when it comes to fires, elevators could be shut down and the stairs could be inaccessible due to the fires and the smoke, precluding people from escaping to safety if one is stranded on the top floors of a skyscraper. In conclusion, although building a vertical city may be a good idea because of the population problem, I still concern about its harmful effects on citizens lives