Do you really need to have university education to be successful

Society connects success with a good university, but does it really make you successful? Succes, the accomplishment of an aim or purpose, can be defined in various ways so you can have a promising career, and still be unsatisfied with your life. University education is a way to success, but it is not the only one. Back in the day when Absolute monarchy existed, education was the only means for normal citizens to achieve a better status in the society. So it is no surprise that most parents want their children to get into a good university because generations of generations have imprinted these mindsets, and it was true until recently when The Technology age started. Nowadays, tons of jobs that don’t require university education appear such as Youtubers, and internet influencers. If you still want to study there are many online courses and applications, which you can learn from and they are free for instance Khan Academy. It is an ugly truth even though we have more jobs than ever that we can choose now, the number of faculties at the university remain unchanged especially in Thailand. With not many faculties to pick, many teenagers don’t even know what they want to be so they can only choose what is available and idealistic for their parents. What is the point of having a country full of engineers or doctors who hate their jobs? So it is not that surprising that many medical student, doctors and engineer quit their jobs or suicide. All of this leads to the rise of the unemployment rate and creates a very toxic environment. Sadly many people cannot be successful with this entire unsuccessful educational system. However, by changing your perspectives you may find the success you never knew you had. Helen Keller, an American author, disability rights advocate, political activist and lecturer, said that “Your success and happiness lie in you” which makes sense. No one is perfect and we can’t be successful with everything. If you never stop to appreciate yourself at your lowest you will never be happy even at your highest. With how outdated our university educational system is I believe university education is unnecessary for us to be successful as long as we change our mindsets and use the technology we have to the full potential.