Do Governments have a legitimate role in protecting citizens from the harmful effects of their own decisions to smoke or are such decisions up to an individual?

It is argued that governments should take the ownership or an individual responsibility to cut the detrimental effects of Tobacco consumption on general public. This essay agrees that the government should have a legitimate role to protect the citizens. This essay will first discuss on the the role of the goverment and then explain the role of individual as well. Government has the power to curb the perils of smoking by raising the prices of cigarettes and other tobacco products. Apart from this, they can also ensure the manufactures to print the graphic content on the packs of tobacco products to bring the awareness to the public on harmful effects that smoking can bring. To implement these two techniques supreme power is essential and, obviously, general public do not have any to control. For instance, a study conducted by the Melbourne University in March 2018 found that after increment of prices along with the graphic content has reduced the smokers percentage by 30. The government can also make a law to ban smoking in public places. This act can reduce the harmful effects as the law always comes with a penalty if one breaks it. It also enforces the smokers to use a designated area, such as smoking area, and avoid releasing harmful smoke into the climate which can impact public health. However, these techniques can be implemented with the support of citizens which shows that an individual's role is imperative. For instance, The New York Times published last year that banning public smoking indeed improvised the air quality in denced metros such as New York. In conclusion, governments should take an active role and take proactive actions to curb the detribmental effects of tobacco consumption along with the public support.