Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of children punished

The question of whether youth ought to be punished is quite a controversial topic. This essay will discuss the positive impacts and the drawbacks of punishing children. On the one hand, the supporters of this statement argue that the punishment of the young demographic has plentiful advantages. Firstly, minors might behave more respectfully to those parents who know that penalizing is the consequence of wrong behaviour. This is well-illustrated by the 2018 study conducted by Harvard University which measured the rate of offspring punished by parents. Furthermore, it has found that 35 per cent applies severe punishing methods, while 5 in 10 said that their children are punished regularly, but not that harshly. According to the research, those who said that punishment was fruitful, due to the fact that it taught discipline, respect and other core values, accounted for in the neighbourhood of 80%. So, disciplining young people is deemed beneficial. On the other hand, the opponents of this argument always point of the negative experiences schools had when they undermined disciplinary methods. For instance, teachers were allowed and encouraged to hit pupils' hands with a stick, or these days it is more prevalent for students to attend detention after school as a form of discipline. However, many consider this a waste of time and not invaluable. Efficient though it sounds, there is no scientific research which proves the effectiveness of these means of punishment. Also, it is often thought, that retribution only generates violence, and ultimately would result in more misbehaviour. To conclude, many believe that punishing children can have their merits and disadvantages. This essay discussed the frequency and the benefits, while examined the ways of punishments that show negative outcomes.