Disadvantages and advantages of having only one child. Do the advatages outweigh the disadvantages?

In two recent decades, the number of one-child families has been documented to be the quickest on the rise. Proponents of more-than-one-child families proffered an opinion that the chances of bringing up an overindulged child are ominous in this type of families, while others hold that inhabiting in one-child families positively impacts adolescents' demeanour. Below are some merits and demerits of being a single child in this household type. On the positive side, being an only child should boost one's sense of precociousness and independence. Naturally, in the single-child household, the child opts to learn how to single-handedly fend for themselves as no available siblings around, thereby encouraging their intellectual development, which makes their future career not an arduous task should they be obliged to work independently later on in life. One paragon can embody that is that when children in single-child families are tasked to do house chores, they fail to sway anyone else into doing their tasks; whereas, in large families, they are either inclined to skip or pass. Hence, as compared to the others, adolescents in this type are much rather mature. On the flipped side, amounting consensus on the drawback of being an only child is: parents are highly likely to spoil their progeny due to their detrimental parenting. It is not uncommon that parents of single-child families have the propensity to foster silver-spoon lifestyles on their offsprings; nevertheless, the gravity of doing so is, as is often the case, dismissed. Besides, the progeny of this family type is deemed far more significant than any other. If their children misbehave, they are prone to neglect their children’s faults and place their blame on the others in lieu, which causally abets apathetic demeanours towards other people and a reckless way of life. In summary, being nurtured in the single-child family presents its both pros and cons; however, how a child grows out solely pivots on how their parents parent their significant one.