despite its benefits, modern technology has created many problems. What are some of these problems and what can we as individuals do to lessen the harmful effects of technology on our everyday lives? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

Technology has managed to develop greatly in the last few decades, so much so that the advances made in the last century alone, surpass all previous improvements in the history of man. Despite the advantages, which are very obvious in our everyday lives, we cannot overlook the drawbacks caused by the constant use. While technology has made it easy for everyone to get ahold of information on any topic at any time, it has also promoted social isolation. Both adults and children spend an excessive amount of their time on their phones and the internet. In more recent years children get comfortable with electronic devices from a young age, so as students they might avoid homework and other beneficial activities in favor of technology. At the same time, adults can get sucked in the world of the internet, which means that they will neglect their responsibilities on a professional and a personal level. Moreover, technology has provided humans with several useful machines, so tasks can get done on their own without the need of an employee. In previous centuries, these advances were extremely helpful to agriculture, transportation, and manufacturing. Since, technology has achieved a very satisfactory progress, nowadays the more innovations the less the need for human effort. That can only mean more automated processes, less employees and an increasing unemployment rate. In my opinion, technology is a necessary evil, because the advantages are invaluable and cannot be found anywhere else. A number of unwritten rules must be implemented so that the fundamentals of societies do not change in the immediate future. People should take matters in their own hands and reduce their time on the internet, while they control kids’ use of electronic devices as well as time spent on them. In addition, no more technological advances on working environments are vital. Employers have to recognize the significance of the human factor in operations and not try to reduce it. All in all, it makes no sense to eliminate usage of technology in our every day lives, especially given the numerous advantages that stem from it. However, considering the few examples of harmful effects stated above it would be advisable to take certain measures in order to maximize the beneficial outcomes.