Despite a large number of gyms, a sedentary lifestyle is gaining popularity in the contemporary world.

It has been universally acknowledged that the problem of inactive way of living life has led to the degradation of health and fitness of numerous people despite the establishment of a number of gyms and other fitness institutions promoting physical activities. A significant number of people fail to manage time for morning exercises as they have to run a rat race every day. Irrespective of world health community's advice on active lifestyle most of the adult population reluctantly fall into the vicious cycle of sedentary lifestyle habits. This problem has been a depressing magnitude. Although a plethora of reasons are there yet some sensible solutions are also available to curb this grave concern. To commence with, the most prominent reason for the issue of unhealthy lifestyle is academic success is valued more as compared to physical health from a very young age. The obligation of scoring exceedingly well in exams has made students to get completely engrossed in their studies. This often leaves people with minimal amount of time to focus on their fitness. Furthermore, in the maximum number of jobs, employees are required to sit at one place for longer durations of time; the culture of “desk jobs” has drastically reduced the amount of physical activity in one’s life. A growing number of body research shows that long periods of physical inactivity raise a risk of becoming overweight. Moreover, with the emergence of entertainment industry, people are more inclined towards the inactive lifestyle. Lastly, availability of food, grocery items and other basic need products on the doorstep has contributed a major share to a lethargic lifestyle. A sedentary lifestyle involves very little physical activities with very low energy expenditure causing several severe health problems. Consequently, it can cause obesity contributing to chronic diseases, such as heart disease, cardiac arrest, and diabetes to name but a few examples. In addition, the relentless exposure to laptops, smart phones or tabs distorts the natural curve of backbone causing various spinal issues. According to a study of young adults in the U. K. , 84% of those tracked experienced back pain during the last year, mainly due to being hunched over smart phones, tablets, and computers. In order to solve this serious issue, some measures can be taken into considerations. Promoting active lifestyle is need of the hour. Making young minds aware of benefits of healthy habits can increase the level of fitness among children. Also, including yoga and other fitness activities as a part of curriculum can also be beneficial for them. Secondly, gyms should be made in the office complexes with adequate facilities. This step will eventually encourage people to start physical activities especially for those whose job timings do not allow them to work out lately. For an example here, according to a survey held in two metro cities, Delhi and Mumbai, of my country, this has been noticed that after introducing health facilities within office premises, that helps people to drastically reduce the health related issues. As a result, they have become more active towards their work. To recapitulate, unquestionably, the sedentary lifestyle poses a real risk of various health complications in the modern societies due to tougher social & economic constraints. Therefore, to mitigate this complex issue, local administration must educate people about the healthy lifestyle habits through campaign and workshops. People should re-evaluate their values and make a long-term strategy for improving their time managem