The best way to reduce traffic congestion in cities is to provide a free public transport service. Give your opinion with examples.

These days, congestion of vehicles has been emerging as enormous trouble in many metros. In my opinion, this problem must be resolved phase wise because it is not only restricted for cities but also restricted for nations. Firstly, the overuse of own vehicles by masses during peak hours shall be considered as a major cause for the traffic jam. However, these conditions shall be regulated by an alternate mode of commuting, which is public transportation. Heavily overload of vehicles not only bustles the roads but also damages the environment in terms of noise, and air pollution. For instance, in 2019, a study by London University found that the traffic loads on the roads of Bristol have deteriorated by 35% over the past years due to usage of public transportation. Secondly, the congestion can be mitigated by various methods such as economic ticket fare for public commute, and charge a congestion fee for the rule-breakers. Furthermore, the city council shall encourage the public by subsidizing the ticket fares of trains, buses, and ferries. On the contrary, the department of traffic regulations shall penalize huge congestion charges with the drivers who park their vehicles in unauthorized areas that lead to frequent road blockings. For example, The Daily Telegraph published an article about the decline of traffic in urban areas of England and demonstrated the allocation of congestion penalties to layover of roads in the countryside. In summary, traffic congestion is vast trouble in few countries and metropolises. Eradicate this problem stage wise troubleshooting is required in terms of planning and execution of moderation of congestion caused by vehicles.