Describe a fear you had to overcome How did you overcome it

No matter how strong we are, but deep inside our hearts, there is always a fear of something that frightened us. It could be a phobia of heights or airplanes or even a fear to lose our beloved ones. Sometimes we succeed to overcome that feeling but sometimes we don’t. For me, the biggest fear since I was a child is to lose my parents. I couldn’t accept the idea of living a single day without them. But fortunately, I was capable to overcome in different ways. Like seeking professional advice, getting closer to God and I train myself to always be positive. I always help but wonder, why people have to die and leave behind their loved ones to grieve? That question was the reason to raise a fear inside my heart of losing my parents. I have always taken care of them as if I was their caretaker. If any of them had gotten sick, I would be woken up all night checking on him/her and giving medications if any on time. Then I suddenly lost my mother which has turned my world upside down. That has made me feel that I could lose my dad as well anytime, so my fear grew up. I asked for help from a friend of mine who is a psychiatrist who started to call me every week. She was so helpful, especially that she has known my family since we were kids which eased up our sessions until I felt better and that I finally was able to control my fear. As a Muslim, I thought since I’m doing my prayers regularly, fasting Ramadan(Our fasting month), reading Quraan(our holy book) and being nice to people is all I needed to be close to God. I thought what else God would need from us? But the answer to that question had opened new windows in my life. Windows that had brought more peace and serenity because when I was looking for something from God, he gave me more. Consequently, the fear in my heart was replaced with calmness as God had promised in all the Holly books. I started to read books that train you on how to think positively and get rid of all the negative thoughts. For instance, when I start thinking and worrying about my dad, I grab a piece of paper and type everything about it as the book said. So I feel like I’m looking right at my problem and think how small it is. It wasn't that simple in the beginning, but as I have said by practicing only and determination to get cured I was able to succeed. In conclusion, it was very important to overcome my fear, because it was consuming my energy to live a normal life-like everybody else. Thus by medical help, having faith in God and fighting the negativity in me I got what I have wanted.