Cycling is more friendly to the environment than other means of transport. Why? How to increase its popularity?

t is true that cycling is much healthier and environmentally friendlier than other modes of transport but it is not gaining in current popularity. However, some measures could be done to encourage the usage of bicycles among public population. There are several reasons why bicycling is as popular as other means of transport. Firstly, when compared to other common vehicles, travelling by bike is much slower. Therefore, it is not entirely suitable for the fast pace of modern life now. For instance, because of work characteristics, businessmen, who often have to transfer between different places in cities within a short time, are preferable to choose faster vehicles, such as cars or motorbikes, which can help serve their daily work better. Secondly, urban cycling can be considered to be dangerous for people, because in many countries, motorized modes of transport, such as lorries, buses, and cars, usually share the same road. As a result, cyclists would meet with unfortunate traffic accidents, leading to the discouragement of bicycle use on a regular basis. However, I argue that there are some measures that could be taken to improve this situation. The first solution is that government should work to make cities safer for bicyclists. In fact, if the government makes investments in constructing dedicated formal cycle lanes in cities, pedestrians can be able to avoid collisions with other vehicles commuting on the roads. For example, in recent years, the Netherlands’ government has encouraged municipal and provincial authorities to establish good regional cycling routes, which can permit almost all people to cycle to and from work conveniently. A second measure is that national authorities should launch propaganda campaigns with the aim of raising public awareness about the effects of private vehicles’ exhaust fumes on the environment. This can not only promote bicycle use in communities but also mitigate other forms of transport which are unfriendly to the environment, including motorcycling and automobiles. Finally, the government could impose a high level of taxation on fossil fuel and the usage of other motorized vehicles. As a result, citizens have to pay more money for their personal transportation, they would choose bicycles as their main of transport. In conclusion, although bicycling is still unpopular in many parts of the world, I believe that the solutions above can make cities more bike-friendly.