Cyberbullying - Book Review

It was a sunny and lovely Sunday afternoon, Delaney was sitting in front of her laptop, chatting with her friends. Everything seemed normal until… her best friend, Arwen sent a picture of Delaney in a weird pose. Delaney was confused because Arwen promised that she wouldn't spread the picture. Everyone in the chatting group started to say mean things and make jokes about her. Delaney began to feel uncomfortable and decided to have a conversation with Arwen. After they talked to each other, it turned out that Arwen did that because she thought she got 2 in the last exam because of Delaney and wanted to get revenge (wow, a very funny reason). Delaney explained the problem and got some apologies from Arwen. Later, Arwen explained the whole story to their other friends and everyone said sorry to Delaney. PART 1: SUMMARIZE OF THE BOOK Cyberbullying has been a really annoying and irritating problem for students nowadays. This has become increasingly common, especially among teenagers. YOU. One of you could be a victim of cyberbullying too, and worse than that, some of you could even be a cyberbully. However, I believe that none of us want to see or be another victim of this problem, and we must want to know and do more research about it. Well, then you shouldn’t miss the book “Cyberbullying” on MyOn, The book basically has 5 main contents; What is Cyberbullying? Are you the cyberbully? How Cyberbullying actually works. The Effects of Cyberbullying. Taking control! What is Cyberbullying? - It is like online bullying or harassment using the social internet. Cyberbullying can happen in many ways, spreading mean messages, rumors, and threats about you for example. It usually begins from plenty of preposterous reasons…. Are you the cyberbully? - Have you ever…. Forwarded and embarrassing messages or photos without his/her permission? Spread mean rumors about a classmate? Used technology to send anonymous threats to someone you don’t like? And a lot more couple of reasons to make you a cyberbully. Imagine there’s a 100 things list that a cyberbully has done at least 1 time, and you’re already a cyberbully if you’ve done 7 of them. How Cyberbullying actually works - You can use technology for tons of positive purposes, but it can also gives bullies an edge. You can simply become a baddie with just a few clicks. Besides, in cyberbullying, cyberbullies can easily hide who they are. But, the bullies don’t always do the work. Sometimes, they ask their friends to spread mean messages or photos on a social networking site for them. The Effects of Cyberbullying - Cyberbullying always leads to a consequence. The victims often experience emotional problems. They may feel scared, depressed, or anxious, which makes them might stop studying and pull away from their friends. Most cyberbullying victims can’t just ignore it and go on with life as usual like a normal person… Taking Control! - The book also contains a few tips on how to control a cyberbullying situation: Just go get some help. Don’t keep quiet! Talk to a counselor, your parents, or other trusted adults or report to website monitors. Especially when you receive hurtful e-mails or messages, just don’t read and delete them. Part 2: What I Like/Dislike about the book: What I like: Easy to understand - Even though the book is a bit wordy but they explained everything quite simple and straightforwardly. It also does not contain too much advanced or complicated vocabulary and grammar, so I believe this book is suitable for everyone. . . The book consists of many examples - This is the thing that I like the most about the book. Examples portray problems through illustrations or texts for us to understand how they work or happen. The book will give you some Cyberbullying situations or even put you in them, to see how will you deal and improvise with them. Some examples are based on true stories, too! What I dislike: Some pages contain text that has a too-small size, which sometimes is quite difficult for me to read. According to Google, your eyes must be at least 20 inches or 51 centimeters from the monitor, and plus, the MyOn book is like… this [insert example], and the text in the book (which I am talking about) is like this. And that is my “Cyberbullying” MyOn book review. Thank you for your listening and if you like it, you can find and read the book to understand more about Cyberbullying and it may helps you to avoid it or even save some victims from it!