Competitiveness is a positive quality fo

It is a firm fact that most people regard the competitiveness of someone as a good trait. Furthermore, this could be fuel to motivate someone, which is a positive thing. However, there are drawbacks which, for example, lower someone's peer self-esteem. On the one hand, the willpower of someone is mostly affected by their competitive nature. This would, eventually, motivate them to be a better individual. For instance, my friends in school would make the most of their time to study for university, and as a result, I get motivated as well. If my surroundings were not as eager as now, I would not have the motivation as big as I currently have. Over time, this motivation would accrue and is a great trend for one's own life. On the other hand, what might be the negative impacts of others' ambitiousness is the degradation of one's self-acclamation due to the feeling of being left behind. The fear of being left is not as cheesy as it sounds, but it is lethal as it can take lives. In Japan, to illustrate, owing to its competitiveness, students are labeled as a failure by their relatives if they aren't able to compete with their mates. Consequently, the suicide rate in Japan is one of the highest across the world. In summary, the uprising trend of being a competitive person has both negative and positive impacts on individuals. While it is true that being fierce is a good character per se because it adds one's willingness to achieve something, peer's self-esteem might be lowered which could lead to being suicidal.