Childhood obesity is becoming a serious problem in many countries. What are the causes of this? What solutions can be offered?

Child obesity has become a severe problem across the globe. This essay will look at some main causes of this and provide some possible solutions to the problem. There are a number of reasons for rapid weight gain among children. The first reason is that children tend to have an imbalanced diet. Having excessive consumption of a poor diet, containing high levels of fat or sugar and few nutrients can cause kids to gain weight quickly. Fast food, candy, and soft drinks are also common culprits. Another reason is not enough physical activity; children having sedentary lifestyles may be less likely to burn calories through sports and time on the playground; instead; they have a tendency to surf the internet or watch TV. Psychological issues can be another cause of children weight problems; kids who are bored, stressed or depressed may eat more to cope with negative emotions. There are several actions that could be taken to mitigate the problem mentioned above. Firstly, it is important to start your nutrition overhaul by limiting sweets and soft drinks at home to make sure that children have a balanced diet. Parents should also raise their awareness about the adverse impact of eating too much food so that they can have more healthy food choices. Secondly, parents need to reduce inactive time their children spend on TV or the computer. In order to do this, it is vital for them to encourage children to take part in outdoor activities to control their weight. There are various factors resulting in childhood obesity and measures can be taken to tackle this issue